Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Alan Bates Award 2015

The Alan Bates Award 2015

The Alan Bates Award 2015

27 April 2015

We have our winner!

The Alan Bates Award 2015 was bigger and tougher than ever. With additional rounds and a landslide of applications we knew we were in for a fierce competition.

Friday 24th April saw our 6 finalists: Jeremy Ang Jones, Luke Dale, Marcus Fraser, Ryan Hayes, John Rwoth-Omack and Calum Speed, all enter the last round of auditions in front of industry judges, which included Janet Suzman and the BBC’s head of casting Julia Crampsie.

It was Guildhall student Luke Dale that took the prize in the end and won this year’s Alan Bates Award. An array of prizes worth a total of £3,000 including everything from headshots, to showreel and a bespoke website, along with a part in Shakespeare’s Globe Read Not Dead live reading programme, amongst many more.

It was a fantastic evening with EastEnders star Lindsey Coulson presenting the award on the night.

We would like to thank all 270 applicants who applied and to everyone who has supported the award throughout, we could not have done it without your continued efforts. But most of all, well done Luke! Congratulations, you are the Alan Bates Award Winner 2015.

Here are some photos from the evening:

Our finalists -








Final round industry judges Julia Crampsie, Nickolas Grace and Janet Suzman -








Chair of the Actors Centre Board Paul Clayton with award presenter and EastEnders star Lindsey Coulson, winner Luke Dale and judge Janet Suzman -








Each of the 6 finalists receive a mentor for a year, here are two with winner Luke Dale; Stephen Billington and Lizzie Roper -








Winners past and present; Charles Babalola Alan Bates Award Winner 2014 and Luke Dale Alan Bates Award Winner 2015 -

Back to articles